Skip to content

Tell Me I’m Not Ready

June 20, 2012
IMG_1216

Today’s Ride: 91km—Onondaga, Harrisburg, Dundas

Weather: Hot, humid—40+ with humidex

Less than three hours. The best way to get through a hot and tough ride is to get it over with. Next week, I’ll be riding 200 on 100: 200 miles on Vermont’s scenic Highway 100. I’ve been looking forward to this for several months. Motivation for each ride has been, in part, a determination to prepare for next week. In this case, 200 miles translates to 358km in order to finish in North Adams, MA. For the past week or so I’ve been suffering badly from seasonal allergies. My sinuses have been inflamed and congested; I’ve been miserable. I’m not completely out of the woods, but today’s ride was an important one. I needed to put in a good ride, before taking on some shorter rides over the next week before Vermont.

Today started okay. I was breathing, which is always good. And only slightly limited in my oxygen intake. Out Fiddler’s Green and a nice breeze. Passing Lindley’s Farm, the waft of strawberries was lovely. And then into the zone. It was an unconscious ride, starting with what seemed like limited energy. But the rhythm came together, and I was turning a good and big gear. Through Harrisburg, I was finding my legs, and finally had the wind behind me. Confidence growing.

Back home, drenched in sweat. Feeling better for the ride, which was not always a good one. But stronger and more confident.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. mikelpearce permalink
    June 20, 2012 1:26 pm

    You’re ready, and you know it. Go to Vermont and kill it.

  2. mikelpearce permalink
    June 20, 2012 4:59 pm

    And let the blood drip down your chin for the photo op. That look in your eye in the one above should do nicely …

  3. Turning circles permalink
    June 20, 2012 6:34 pm

    Your biggest challenge may be to convince the border people to let you in.

    Have a great ride.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

