Skip to content

Six Days of Rain: Day Three*

April 7, 2011

Ride: 20km—Sydenham Hill, Crooks Hollow

Weather: Freezing, fog

The asterisk is for two things. First, this rain thing is turning out to be a bust. I must confess to being a little disappointed about coming home dry, the bike requiring only the quickest of wipes. Second, my six consecutive days of riding ran up against a Wednesday full of meetings that I had completely forgotten about. As a result, I was unable to get out yesterday.

Today’s ride was my first time up Sydenham Hill this year. Roughly 1.5km at 8-11%. It’s a beast, but the climb is fairly steady, and but for its relative length, not so bad. The hill on Crooks Hollow is neither as long or as steep, but it’s traditionally been the climb that gets me every time. I’ll ruminate on that further another time, but I managed it fairly well today, too. In all, good sensations, even if I was feeling a bit stiff at the outset.

Lots of fog on the escarpment limited visibility, but also added to the silence of the morning. Tomorrow, I’ll take on Weir’s Lane for the first time. 17% grade, I think I read somewhere. Short enough that it’s more a leg-buster than a lung-buster. And so the penance continues…

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 10:31 pm

    Hmm. Still learning how to manage WordPress. The caption to the photograph was supposed to read: “The top third of Sydenham Hill.”

Leave a Reply

