Skip to content

Building a New Bike

April 22, 2011

The Build has been moving slowly. Three parts: my being really busy; one part: apathy; two parts: incompetence. But I’m not far off, now. The rack for the baby seat is waiting at Pierik’s to be picked up. Another coat or two of paint still needs to go on. And I’m brake cables and tires away from being able to complete it.

In my defense, the apathy part stems from only being able to work on it at night after the kids are in bed. This would be fine, but for the fact that I decided to sand rather than strip (with chemicals) the original paintwork. My electric sander makes a lot of noise, so I wasn’t really able to get to work on that as much as I would have liked. Also, too, it’s still bitterly cold, so I didn’t feel overly rushed to a). go outside at night to work on it, and b). put a little person on the back of it.

Here’s the before and after on the frame:

Before: eyesore

After: slightly less of an eyesore

All in all, I’m pretty pleased with the transition. The painting was messier than I expected, and I’ll need to do some light sanding to smooth it out. In addition, just before I took this picture, I added another coat of paint. And then the frame promptly broke free of its hanger and fell in the mud. Which kind of sucked. Now I have a lot of dirt and grass and leaves and sticks stuck to an otherwise rather attractive white frame. Hopefully, I’ll be able to repair that quickly enough on the next coat (which might wait for a slightly less windy day).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

