Skip to content

Mad Dogs & Englishmen

May 21, 2011

Ride: 60km—Harrisburg loop

Weather: Sunny, beautiful

The idea was to get out early before the heat set in, but after waking late it seemed more appropriate to wait for the pros to finish climbing the Zoncolan in Italy. There’s something beautiful and dramatic about the mountain-top finishes in the grand tours.

At any rate, that left me leaving home late, towards midday. And making the loop that included the Hounds of Baskervilles. Well, I’m not English, and the hounds weren’t around today, even as I prepared for them and was ready to kick it into a previously untested speed. But no dogs. Which was almost a letdown under the circumstances. It was hot, though. But I climbed well. First, up Brock Rd. and then my old nemesis, Crooks Hollow, where I actually reeled in and passed a rider some 200m ahead of me at the bottom of the hill. He was climbing out of the saddle and suffering; I felt pretty calm, still in the saddle and hands on the tops—easy up and faster, as Fabian Cancellara would say.

The rest of the ride was pretty calm and uneventful. The return leg was quicker than I feared it might be, even if I did run out of gas a bit on the homeward leg along Jerseyville Rd. Not too badly, but I noticed I was lagging a bit and my legs were feeling tired. Turns out it was more lower back stiffness than leg fatigue, as getting out of the saddle seemed to help and I was still able to ride with power.

Beautiful day for a ride, though. The forecast says rain is on the way, but hopefully I’ll be able to log some more kilometers tomorrow morning before the heavens open, which would be nice. After such a wet week, I feel as though I’ve fallen off the rhythm of riding a little, especially since I was hoping to shoot for 100-150km a week through May and hit 1000km by the end of the month. The latter is still in reach with some good riding and good weather.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. xyxax permalink
    May 22, 2011 1:56 pm

    surfing the net, waiting for today’s stage to start in earnest. Saw this, a bit gaudy, but fun to look at:

    http://www.realcyclist.com/louis-garneau-rwanda-team-jersey-short-sleeve-mens

    • May 22, 2011 5:02 pm

      Nice find! As a matter of fact, I’ve just joined a new Bikes to Rwanda team, based in NYC. The kit is Giordana and a good bit more conservative than what you found. Will post on this in due course once I receive the gear (should be by the end of June).

Leave a Reply

