Skip to content

Creature of Habit

June 27, 2011

20110627-124421.jpg

Greetings from Turku. I got up, had breakfast, hopped on my bike, and went for an espresso. Only difference was I rolled over and went back to sleep for five hours after breakfast. And I’m in Finland.

Bike above. For someone who typically prefers more of a racing geometry, I find this upright position is surprisingly relaxing. The gearing is ridiculously low, but I guess that comes with this style of bike. I wish I’d brought my singlespeed.

I’ll post more about cycling in Turku as time allows, but the network of cycling lanes is phenomenal and the topography quite flat. I went to visit the castle this afternoon (closed Mondays, of course) and rolled around Ruissalo, the nearest island of the archipelago.

20110627-125638.jpg

20110627-125704.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Claire permalink
    July 5, 2011 4:27 am

    I am still shaking my head at the notion that there was an EH event in Scandinavia and I WAS NOT THERE.

    • July 5, 2011 11:54 am

      I TOLD you you should have come! There were very few Canadians, too. Very nice time and very good hosts. Although, without provoking all kinds of hostilities, Finnish food is the weaker link: Norwegian salmon vs. Finnish herring. No contest. Turku was lovely, though.

Leave a Reply

