Skip to content

Weekend Ride

August 21, 2011

Saturday’s Ride: 98km—Mineral Springs, Weir’s Lane, Waterdown, Lowville, Mountsberg, Carlisle, etc.

Weather: Warm, somewhat overcast

Another wrong turn and I managed to shave a few kilometers off the ride again. I had meant to ride out to Walker’s Line along No. 1 Sideroad, but missed what looks like a rather fun and snaking descent just before Guelph Line. Instead I rolled along a busier road, although the descent into Lowville was a bit of fun. Then out and around Mountsberg Reservoir before heading for home.

My knees felt a little sore as I started out and this persisted for about 20+kms. Long enough that I was about to turn back early, but after deciding to take one more turn outwards before deciding whether this was serious, the pain seemed to disappear. A bit disturbing, but hopefully nothing too serious. They didn’t bother me too much on the way up Weir’s Lane, but seemed unhappy when I tried to spin in a lower gear (intended to take the pressure off them).

My ride coincided with the start of La Vuelta a Espana, the final Grand Tour of the year. I’m picking Igor Anton, last year’s winner Vincenzo Nibali, and Joaquim Rodriguez to podium.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

