Skip to content

$1000 for Bikes to Rwanda

October 17, 2011

Today’s Ride: 102km—6th Line Nassagaweya, 15 Sideroad

Weather: Windy. Very windy.

Great ride in spite of some nasty wind. At one point I had to gear down while descending the wind was so strong. Not something one wants to admit to. Wind is another feature of autumn, and one I could do without, but then if riding is only fun in warm, still weather, what’s the point? It makes rain, wind, snow, etc. more enjoyable.

It was cool starting out today, but I found myself spinning and climbing rather well. This was also my first ride up Sixth Line Nassagaweya, which started with a pretty nasty climb off of Campbellville Rd. I was protected from the wind by the slope, but got it in full force as I got to the top of the hill. Back along 15 Sideroad, which was equally blustery, but once I turned left onto First Line Nassagaweya, I had the wind at my back and was able to pick up speed and make up time.

More significantly, today’s ride put me over $1000 in fundraising for Bikes to Rwanda. At 4395 kilometers, I’m just over 600km from the target for the year, which should be attainable by the end of the month. Not to count chickens before they’ve hatched, but I’ve started to think a bit about next year, and how I might try to fundraise by biking differently. While the basic principle has been a reasonably good one, it would be great to raise more awareness and more money in 2012.

Lake Ontario from Walker's Line

Top of Sixth Line Nassagaweya

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

