Skip to content

History Lesson: Improved Roads Weren’t a Product of Automobility

October 29, 2011

This has been sitting in my to-post folder for quite some time.

Cyclists paved the way for roads.

The historian in me is looking for a way to incorporate cycling and the bicycle into my environmental history research—this might have been a good project or direction for me, but it seems somebody’s beaten me to it. Maybe a few graduate students projects on trail building and bike share programs are in the works, but the real challenge is to find a way to get myself funded to do this work. More to the point: I need to find a way to get funding to buy a top-end bike. Maybe a history of bike technology building off of today’s earlier post. Yes: I think I need a high-end bike with Di2 Dura Ace components. That’s definitely research. And I would need to ride it. A lot.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

