Skip to content

End of Year

December 31, 2011

Well, that’s that, then. The goal for the year was 5000km, but 6000 started to present itself as a possibility until I came down with a sore throat midway through December. Lots of good riding—what a wonderful way to spend lonely hours with the kids at school.

Some numbers.

5817km ridden

10kg lost

More than 5000km solo

183 blog posts

$1200 raised for Bikes to Rwanda

I’ll have to have a think about next year. I’d like to revisit the fundraising paradigm for next year, but I want to explore a few other options, including a couple of group rides to raise money for Bikes to Rwanda, which might go further to raising exposure as well as modest funds from a single cyclist.

Roll on 2012.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Blah permalink
    December 31, 2011 8:41 pm

    “5817km ridden

    10kg lost

    More than 5000km solo

    183 blog posts

    $1200 raised for Bikes to Rwanda”

    10kg lost is awesome. Great work!
    Cash for good cause likewise.
    Happy new year.

  2. December 31, 2011 10:50 pm

    Happy New Year to you, too! The riding got a lot easier as the weight came down. I started out a reasonably athletic 87kg, but managed to get down to a much fitter weight for going uphill. There’s still work to do on my cycling style and skill (isn’t there always?), but the lower weight was likely the single most significant improvement in my cycling. And a gateway for other improvements.

  3. Kyle permalink
    January 2, 2012 6:35 pm

    Well done! I need to borrow some of your fortitude when it comes to bad weather riding.

    How do I fulfill my pledge?

    • January 3, 2012 1:46 am

      Actually, I’ve been really lucky with the weather this year. Not too wet and not too cold. I got most of my riding in under friendly skies. Thanks again for the pledge. Two ways to submit:

      1. Go to the Bikes to Rwanda page a contribute directly. They should be able to issue tax receipts from there. The link is: http://www.bikestorwanda.com. Click on “Donate Now” under the “Contribute” link in the top bar. That will take you to a secure page.

      2. If online stuff is not your bag, they’re not well-equipped to receive cheques, especially in non-US currencies. While hardly optimal, it might be best to send me a cheque made out to “Michael Egan.” I’ll make out a money order in US dollars for Bikes to Rwanda and send it to Brian Gilmore at Bikes to Rwanda. Contact me at velonista@gmail.com for mailing address.

Leave a Reply

