Skip to content

Drafting my Own Demise: 200 on 100

January 24, 2012

I mentioned that one of my goals for the year was to ride 200 miles on Highway 100, from the top to the bottom of Vermont. This will be with the Velominati crowd, who are planning to do this on June 28. It’s a long ride—we’ll be setting out shortly after 5:00am—with the bulk of the climbing during the second half of the ride. Here’s a video rendition of a couple of pros (and one friend) riding it last year.

As excited as I am about the ride, this video serves as poignant reminder that I have work to do. At Domestique yesterday, I casually mentioned to the barista, a good racer and former student, that I was planning for this ride, and he looked at me as though I was nuts. Or, rather, he had that “you’re going to die” look, which was equally demoralizing.

Snow transitioned to rain yesterday and the roads are clear, which means I might get out for a ride tomorrow. Good sense and logic dictates that I should probably do a series of hill repeats up Sydenham, but I can’t help myself from just wanting to ride…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Turning Circles permalink
    January 25, 2012 4:25 pm

    Good luck with the Vermont ride. I have followed some of the discussion about preparation and as tempting as hill repeats might be, I suspect that a programme of many long rides at fairly low intensity for the next few months would provide a better grounding. Sounds like “just wanting to ride” is the right way to go.

  2. mikelpearce permalink
    January 25, 2012 8:37 pm

    Or, you know, BOTH!

Leave a Reply

