Skip to content

Chain Slip

February 7, 2012

Today’s Ride: 20km—Mineral Springs

Weather: Cool, overcast

I don’t normally ride on a Tuesday morning, which is usually a rest day. Today probably should have been a rest day, too. I spent a fair amount of time in the gym yesterday morning, working on squats, step-ups, and other weight-related leg exercises. As a result, my body was quite tired last night and I hadn’t fully recovered before heading out this morning. No matter: a light ride. Nevertheless, my quads were tired. To make matters worse, I found the chain jumping every time I got out of the saddle, which was a bit disconcerting and kept me from using my weight to will the bike up some steeper hills. So more work on the quads. To make matters even worse, I realized after setting out that I had put my eyewear down on the table on my way out the door, so I didn’t have them with me. No matter: I rode without them. Nevertheless, the dryish day was only dryish; something between mist and drizzle. Nothing to cause discomfort, but a stern reminder that I didn’t have my glasses with me.

All in all, not an especially satisfying ride, but nice to get some fresh air…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. xyxax permalink
    February 9, 2012 3:35 am

    #chainslip: Diagnosis?

    • February 11, 2012 1:50 am

      Cable was loose. No problem. But enough for a bit of worry: it’s been awhile since I changed cables and housing. I don’t want to do it before the weather improves, but didn’t want to be poking around inside the shifter at frayed cable either. Calamity (such as this might have qualified) averted.

Leave a Reply

