Skip to content

Asleep at the Wheel

March 7, 2012

Today’s Ride: 58km—Jerseyville, Harrisburg, Orkney

Weather: Warm (6-10c); very windy

The title, sadly, says it all. I don’t know where I was for this ride. Beautiful morning and great to get out. And it would have been a pity to put in a shorter ride. The outward leg was in to a very strong headwind (40-50kph), but I managed to maintain a decent cadence in a pretty low gear. Maybe it was that slog that put me to sleep. My lower back was a little tight and it had been a couple of weeks since my last ride (Mrs. Velonista was out of town last week, and I was reluctant to find myself stranded in the middle of nowhere when kids needed collecting from school, etc.). But I honestly remember very little about today’s ride, which is wildly out of character. I don’t remember Orkney at all. Now, it’s not more than a few houses lining 2nd Concession Rd., but I couldn’t tell you whether I stopped at the four-way stop there or not. I just don’t remember. Which is troubling. Maybe a sign that fitness is long since gone? Or the opposite? I didn’t feel bad (other than tight back).

Back for espresso and then home. Time to start building more of a base before heading to Wisconsin for a conference at the end of the month and a ride on the Friday afternoon with colleagues (more on this soon). Also time to start waking up…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

