Skip to content

Home & Dry

March 12, 2012

Today’s Ride: 20km—Mineral Springs loop

Weather: Mild. Wet.

It was a mild, grey, and dry morning. I was racing to get an article finished this morning, and wrapped it up just before lunch. Quick lunch, and then geared up for a ride. I felt the first drop before I even got off my street. Of course. By the time I was climbing Wilson, it was raining. By the time I got to the top, it was raining heavily. Terrific. Really. Wet stuff above is so much easier for the cyclist to navigate than wet stuff below. The road was getting wetter, of course, but it’s not like I was hydroplaning around corners are trying to avoid puddles where I couldn’t see the bottom (avoid these: they may be really big potholes).

Actually, I felt pretty good. I was supposed to go to the gym today, but with the kids off school, nobody woke up early, and it seemed a shame to disturb the quiet of the house. By the time the littlest velonista stirred, it was past 8:00. The gym becomes a zoo around 9:30, so that window had shut tightly. No matter. A ride. Good sensations. Felt strong. Climbed well. Spinning smoothly. The ups and downs through Mineral Springs went very well, not needing to let up to let legs or lungs recover. Must have been one of the quicker runs through this loop, even with the wet.

Countdown to Wisconsin is on. A little over two weeks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

