Skip to content

Fatigue

March 18, 2012

Today’s Ride: 30km—Top of the escarpment

Weather: Glorious

Fatigue. The body didn’t want to ride today. The heart wasn’t that into it either. The mind suggested taking the day off. The wife looked at me funny when I said I might pass on riding today. Shoulders were stiff. Lower back was uncomfortable. Maybe my body was recommending rest. Of course, the sun was out and it was warm. Lazy Sunday breakfast and I slowly came around to the idea of going out. Some days, one passes on the ride and then regrets it for the rest of the day. So I went out. No leg- or arm-warmers. Bare legs. Bare arms. It was that warm.

Up Olympic & Valley Rds. Feeling okay. Over the top of the escarpment along Harvest Rd. Feeling fine. Up Crooks Hollow. Just enjoying the weather. I’m only slowly learning how to ride gently. It’s easily enough done in a group, but on my own, something feels not quite right if the legs are spinning too easy, if I can’t feel the resistance in the pedals. Today, I started easy, and the rest of the body caught up reasonably well. I didn’t feel tired once I was out, and enjoyed putting some baseline work in on the season’s tan.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kyle permalink
    March 19, 2012 5:28 pm

    Home/work/volunteer activities did not allow riding last week. Got out in the yard early Saturday to do post-winter cleanup with just coffee and a donut. Bonked. Had a carb heavy lunch and found time for 50k (also windy). Felt good to be on the bike again.

    I didn’t feel like riding yesterday either but after reading your post went out for an hour in the evening. The easy ride seemed to be a better recovery than no activity, plus it gave me a chance to adjust to the switch from toe clips to my Craigslist, Speed Play Zeros.

    This weeks schedule is much more promising and allow me to commute tomorrow and again on Friday.

    See you in Madison.

  2. March 19, 2012 5:51 pm

    Ah! Speedplays: let me know what you think. I got some a couple of summers ago, and I’m a convert. Looking forward to comparing notes at the end of next week.

    • Kyle permalink
      March 19, 2012 8:32 pm

      I’m happy with them so far. The difference in power was apparent from the start. I was worried about unclipping but seem to have more trouble clipping back in. Probably a matter of time though.

      The placement of the cleats on the bottoms of the shoes needs some adjustment. My foot rolls to the outside which make my knees unhappy but I think that I’ve gotten that figured out.

      • March 19, 2012 10:36 pm

        Trouble clipping in can be a sign that the pedals/cleats are a bit worn or you have a bit of gravel/dust in the cleat. I’ve only recently had a bit of difficulty (very minor) at the beginning of rides, and suspect that a bit of dry lube might do the trick. Having recently bought some new shoes, I thought I might also get some new cleats, which might solve the problem. As much as I like the power and float—and they’re oh so small and provide slick help in cornering—frankly, the ease and simplicity in clipping in and out was a big selling point.

      • Kyle permalink
        March 20, 2012 4:44 pm

        While they are used, they aren’t terribly worn and are clean. My problem seems to be lining the cleat up with the pedal, the right more so than the left. My suspicion is user error rather than a mechanical problem

        I’ve made an adustment to cleat position on that shoe and suspect that the adjustment and more time riding will solve the problem.

        You’re correct about the simplicity of the system. The switch from toe clips has been much easier than I feared and I credit that to the Speedplays.

Leave a Reply

