Skip to content

On Getting Dropped

April 13, 2012

It’s a terrible feeling. Watching a group of cyclists who are stronger than you on the day pulling away and out of reach. Losing contact with the group. I don’t have a lot of experience with this, because I don’t race. In my lone race, almost two years ago I mistook the neutralized start as an opportunity to ease into the race around the first turn and into the first climb. The neutral section consisted of the bunch taking off at better than 40kph, and as I crested the hill, I was already out of the race. By the second turn, I was more than 100m back. In cycling, the group is invariably stronger than the solo rider.

I use this as metaphor for my handling of the blog  over the past couple of weeks. I have been riding and will not be able to post blow-by-blow accounts of each ride. I traveled to Wisconsin for a conference a couple of weeks ago and had my laptop stolen. Since, I’ve been trying to keep on top of work without a computer, and that’s meant trouble finding time and access to write about cycling.

In a nutshell:

I had a wonderful time riding in Madison with a group from velominati.com. Great time, the account of which will likely be posted on that site in the near future. 70km as part of a group of six. Very pleasant camaraderie on the road and some beautiful scenery through dairy country on a grey day that was meant for cycling.

In addition, two Mineral Springs loops and a very pretty ride through Niagara-on-the-Lake while my son was orienteering in St. Catharines last weekend. Another 100km between those three. While my fitness is good—much better than this time last year—I need to spend more time on the bike and put in more kilometers.

I’ll talk more about impending targets and goals shortly. But I hope this is me getting back up to date and better able to keep up with the pace…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

