Skip to content

The Hardest 35

May 5, 2012

(Yesterday’s) Ride: 34km—Valley Rd., Crooks Hollow, Mineral Springs in reverse

Weather: Warm, soupy

After a week off the bike and more than a week since I had a long ride, yesterday’s was an important one. There are two schools of thought when it comes to riding after some time off the bike. One is to ease back into things with a light or short ride, designed just to go through the motions and let the form and fitness recover in their own time. The other is to shock the system into action with a hard and vigorous ride. I typically tend toward the former (as most non-masochists might), but opted for the latter.

This wasn’t an impossible ride and it could have been harder (note: Valley Rd. and not Sydenham, for example), but it was a high tempo ride over short ground and involved a number of climbs that burned the lungs. In spite of a relatively sedentary week, it felt good to be back on the bike, and the descent along the Old Ancaster Rd. at the end of the ride was a reassuring sign that confidence and fitness were there. The climbing wasn’t terrible, although recovery at the top of Valley Rd. took a little longer than I would have liked. Nevertheless, it felt good to be back out and reacquainted with the bike. I’m targeting a 100k ride later this week to really gauge my fitness.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. xyxax permalink
    May 5, 2012 9:23 pm

    It would help us weasely voyeurs if you had some datums. Random acts of GPS!

    • May 6, 2012 12:38 am

      What’s a GPS? I had thought of Map My Ride, but it’s easier to sound impressive when I only use descriptive prose to illustrate my riding heroics. Data would only take the sheen off my abilities.

  2. xyxax permalink
    May 8, 2012 1:41 am

    When books were the social medium of the day, we cravenly judged everyone by their covers. Now, it’s number of “friends” on facebook, followers on Twitter, and KOMs on Strava. Me: 23, 4, 0 respectively. The language of judgement has changed.
    Now excuse me while I get ready for my high school prom.

    • May 8, 2012 7:46 pm

      “The language of judgment has changed.” Precisely why I went into the academy. 1. I can’t function in the real world, and 2. I can be curmudgeonly and relentlessly archaic in my use of language and get paid for it…

  3. xyxax permalink
    May 8, 2012 9:03 pm

    Yes, we are right where we are supposed to be!
    I can hide my curmudgeoness-cum-misanthropy behind a “humanitarian” aid worker persona. Now if I could just get a picture of myself carrying a bag of rice ashore on some ill-begotten land, a la Bernard Kouchner, as my avatar….

Leave a Reply

