Skip to content

Figure Eights

June 16, 2012

Today’s Ride: 37km—Mineral Springs, Weirs Lane, and back again

Weather: Sunny, warm

Most of my rides consist of big loops, run either clockwise or counter-clockwise. Occasionally, I’ll run out along a particular line and follow it home. What I don’t do much is limit my distance from home by doing a more circuitous route that involves retracing my “crank steps” and cutting back on myself. Today, inspired by a drive to pick strawberries yesterday, I took in a dirt road closer to home that I’d not cycled. When I first arrived in Dundas, I’d ridden it on my mountain bike, but had avoided it on the road bike; driving along it yesterday, it was more compact and solid than I’d remembered. But how to incorporate it while still putting in a decent ride?

Regular Mineral Springs loop, adding on Weirs Lane’s climb, and then coming back around via Inksetter to return to the dirt along Sulphur Springs Rd., back up the hill to Ancaster, and then home along the Old Ancaster Rd. A nice loop with some decent climbing and never too far from home.

Over the past couple of days, I’ve been fighting with a throat thing that seems to be evolving into allergies. A good/bad sign. Good that something isn’t knocking me out; bad that allergies aren’t always easily controlled. Today’s ride started out gingerly, but the climb up Wilson went fairly well and the pace improved. I didn’t feel my best in the humidity today, but the rhythm developed and I was comfortable throughout. Riding on dirt roads is nice. Different surface and, typically, more interesting roads.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

